Who Are The Members Of The GST Council?


Currently, there are thirty-three members in the Indian GST council. Two out of thirty-three members are from the center while two are from the union territories and the rest from the 29 states. Out of these are some common household names in Indian politics like the Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, the Deputy Chief Minister of Delhi Manish Sisodia, and others.

The council has met and laid out several tax brackets right after the implementation of the move across the nation. Some sectors like real estate, automobiles, and several other large scale industrial aspects have witnessed lower tax brackets. This move was made to have a positive GST impact on real estate, automobile, and other sectors that were prone to go through a crisis.

To know more about GST’s latest news, click here.

What Is The GST Council’s Composition?

As mentioned earlier, the GST council currently comprises of 33 members. Other than these members, there are 24 official members with multiple GST council secretary and subordinate secretary position holders.

Directors- Four GST council employees are holding the position of directors, namely, Shri GAURI Shankar Sinha, Shri Rajesh Kumar Agarwal, Shri Jagmohan, and Ms. Ujjaini Datta.

Revenue Secretary and Ex-Officio Secretary- This position is held by a single person by the name of Shri Ajay Bhushan Pandey.

Joint Secretary- The GST council has a joint secretary, Shri Amitabh Kumar, and a commissioner/joint secretary Shri Dheeraj Rastogi.

Special Secretary- Dr. Rajeev Ranjan holds this position in the GST council.

Deputy Commissioner/ Under Secretary- 3 employees are holding this position in the council, Shri Arjun Kumar Meena, Shri Rahul Raja, and Shri Rakesh Agarwal.

Assistant Commissioner/ Under Secretary- There are three employees in the GST council currently in this designation, Shri M. Krishna Koundinya, Shri Debasish Datta and Shri Mahesh Singarapu.\

Superintendent- There are 10 employees currently working under this designation in the council, Shri Kundan Kumar, Shri Krishan Kumar Verma, Shri Sarib Sahran, Shri Nand Singh Bist, Shri Adesh Nayak, Shri Sumit Kumar, and Shri Vijay Kumar. Apart from them, there are three other members, Shri Vipin Sethi, Ms. Chanchal Soni, and Shri Manish Nemiwal.

The GST Council Members

Minister of Finance and Corporate Affairs


Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman took charge of the office on the 31st of May in 2019. Since 2014, she has been a member of the Rajya Sabha (upper house) of the parliament in the country. She is the acting head of the GST council, and she holds this position under the Government of India.

Minister Of State (Finance and Corporate Affairs)


Shri Anurag Singh Thakur holds this position under the Government of India and joined office on 31st of May, 2019.

Minister of Finance And Legislative Affairs


Taking charge of the office on the 18th of June 2019, Shri Buggana Rajendranath holds this position under the Government of Andhra Pradesh.

Minister Of Finance And Investment


 Shri Chowna Mein holds this position under the Government of Arunachal Pradesh and took charge of the office on the 19th of June, 2019.

Finance Minister


Taking charge of the office on the 17th of September, 2016, Dr. Hemanta Biswa Sarma holds this position under the Government of Assam.

Deputy Chief Minister Bihar

Shri Sushil Kumar Modi holds this position since the 2nd of August, 2017 under the Government of Bihar and is a member of the council.

Minister Of Commercial Taxes

Shri T.S. Singh Deo, under the Government of Chhattisgarh, took charge of the office on the 7th of January, 2019.

Deputy Chief Minister of Delhi

Shri Manish Sisodia, under the Government of Delhi, took charge of the office on the 20th of September 2017.

Cabinet Minister Goa

Under the Government of Goa, this council member Shri Mauvin Godinho joined office on the 19th of March, 2019.

Deputy Chief Minister

Under the Government of Gujarat, Shri Nitin Patel took charge of the office on the 13th of January, 2018.

Chief Minister Himachal Pradesh

Shri Jia Ram Thakur is also a GST council member after taking charge of the office on the 27th of December, 2017.

Minister, Urban Development & Transport

Shri C.P.Singh, under the Government of Jharkhand, holds this position since the 4th of January, 2017.

Minister Excise & Taxation

Capt. Abhimanyu, under the Government of Haryana, holds this office since the 14th of September, 2016.

Advisor To Honorable Governor & I/C Finance

 Shri K.K Sharma, under the government of Jammu & Kashmir, holds this position since the 17th of December, 2018.

Minister Of Finance Madhya Pradesh

Shri Tarun Kumar Bhanot, since the 9th of January, 2019 is a current GST council member.

Minister Of Finance Kerala

Dr. T.M.Thomas Isaac from Kerala is another council member holding office since the 22nd of September 2019.

Finance Minister Maharashtra

Shri Sudhir Mungantiwar, since the 19th of September, 2019 holds this office under the Government of Maharashtra.

Minister of Cooperation

 Since the 21st of March, 2019, Shri Bandeppa Kashempur holds this office under the Government of Karnataka.

Minister, Taxation Department

 Under the Government of Mizoram, Shri Lalchamliana holds this office since the 4th of January 2019.

Minister Of Urban Development & Municipal Affairs

Since the 25th of April, 2018 this office is held by Shri Metsubo Jamir under the government of Nagaland.

Deputy Chief Minister Manipur

Shri Yumnam Joykumar Singh holds this office since the 1st of April, 2017.

Minister of Finance & Excise

Under the government of Odisha, Shri Niranjan Pujari holds joined office on the 12th of June, 2019.

Chief Minister Meghalaya

Shri Conrad Kongkal Sharma holds this office since the 6th of March, 2018.

Minister of Tourism & Civil Aviation and Commerce & Industries- Shri B.S. Panth since the 14th of June, 2019, holds this office under the government of Sikkim.

Apart from these members, the Chief Minister of Puducherry, Finance Minister from Punjab, Minister for Local Self Government, Urban Development & Housing, Law & Legal Affairs, and Parliamentary Affairs are also part of the council.

The Minister for Home, Prisons & Fire Services, Deputy Chief Minister from Tripura, Minister for Fisheries and Personnel & Administrative Reforms, Minister for Irrigation, Flood Control, Minor Irrigation, Rain Water Harvesting, Water Management, Indo-Nepal Uttarakhand River Projects, Tourism, Pilgrimage & Religious Fairs, Culture, Minister for Home, Fire and Prison Services and Finance Ministers from West Bengal and Uttar Pradesh are also current GST council members.

; })();