Front Page Headline News

Trump Administration Declares Travel Ban On Northern, Southern Borders

Daily Caller News Foundation

Jason Hopkins on March 20, 2020

The Trump administration on Friday announced a ban on all non-essential travel on the northern and southern borders, the latest response to stop the spread of coronavirus.

Acting Secretary of Homeland Security Chad Wolf, standing beside President Donald Trump and Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, declared that the Mexican and Canadian borders would be shut down to all non-essential travel. The ban will officially begin Saturday, and last for a month at least.

“As we continue to evaluate commonsense measures that reduce risk and prevent further spread, it only makes sense that we looked to the measures that neighbors to the north and south are undertaking,” Wolf said Friday. “We’ve reached an agreement with both Canada and Mexico to limit non-essential travel across our land borders.”

The acting secretary, however, added that trade and other needed services will continue to be processed through the border.

“Let me be clear that none of these agreements apply to lawful trade or commerce. Essential commercial activities will not be impacted,” Wolf said, adding that a “secure” and “strong ” economic supply chain will still move across both borders.

As of Friday morning, more than 12,300 people have tested positive for the coronavirus in the U.S, across every state. There are at least 195 reported cases of U.S. patients dying from coronavirus-related illnesses.

Content created by The Daily Caller News Foundation is available without charge to any eligible news publisher that can provide a large audience. For licensing opportunities of our original content, please contact

Related posts

; })();