Abuse of Authority Gov't Incompetence Headline News

California Adds Four States To Discriminatory Travel Ban Over LGBT Laws


By Joshua Gill

California is restricting state government funded travel to four more states after each of them passed laws deemed harmful to the LGBT community.

California Attorney General Xavier Becerra announced the addition of Alabama, Kentucky, South Dakota, and Texas to a travel ban list Thursday at a press conference in San Francisco. The list had already included Mississippi, North Carolina, Kansas, and Tennessee. The travel ban restricts state government funded travel to and the spending of California state tax dollars in states that have laws permitting refusal of service to LGBT individuals.

Becerra cited laws recently passed by the newly added states that he deemed were part of a “scourge of discrimination” against LGBT individuals. Supporters of the laws in question say they were passed in those states to protect religious individuals from government discrimination for operating their businesses according to their religious beliefs.

“We will not spend taxpayer dollars in states that discriminate,” Becerra said.

A Texas law permitting faith based adoption and foster care agencies to refuse potential LGBT parents based on religious criteria was the most recently passed law cited by Becerra.

The California state legislature voted to create the travel ban in 2016. The ban has exemptions for training required for grants, law enforcement officers, and tax officials.

Follow Joshua on Twitter
Click here for reuse options!
Copyright 2017 Daily Caller News Foundation
Content created by The Daily Caller News Foundation is available without charge to any eligible news publisher that can provide a large audience. For licensing opportunities of our original content, please contact [email protected]


Related posts

; })();